مؤسسة الخليج للاستثمار تحقق 121 مليون دولار صافي أرباح عن عام 2017

أعلنت مؤسسة الخليج للاستثمار نتائج أعمالها عن العام المالي المنتهي في 31 ديسمبر 2017 والتي أظهرت تحقيقها أرباح تشغيلية قبل المخصصات بلغت 181 مليون دولار أمريكي، وتم تكوين صافي مخصصات بلغ إجماليها 60 مليون دولار أمريكي، لمقابلة الانخفاض في القيمة العادلة لبعض استثمارات محفظتي المشاريع والاستثمارات العالمية، لتسجل بذلك أرباحاً صافية بلغت 121 مليون دولار أمريكي. ويأتي هذا الإعلان في أعقاب مصادقة الجمعية العامة العادية على البيانات المالية للمؤسسة، والتي انعقدت يوم أمس الأثنين الموافق 9 ابريل 2018 بمقر المؤسسة بدولة الكويت.

وفي تعليق له على النتائج المالية لعام 2017، صرح السيد إبراهيم علي القاضي، الرئيس التنفيذي للمؤسسة، بأن تحقيق تلك النتائج الجيدة في ظل الظروف الاستثنائية الصعبة التي تمر بها المنطقة يعتبر انجازاً، ويعكس ثمرة جهودٍ مشتركة بين مجلس الإدارة والإدارة التنفيذية، وأضاف بأن المؤسسة استطاعت أيضا خلال عام 2017 المحافظة على تصنيفها الائتماني القوي عند مستوى A2 من قبل وكالة موديز، وA- من قبل وكالة فيتش مع نظرة مستقبلية مستقرة، وهو الأمر الذي يعكس مدى ثقة مؤسسات التصنيف العالمية في سلامة نموذج العمل الذي تتبناه المؤسسة ومتانة الوضع المالي ومستويات السيولة للمؤسسة وأداؤها المتميز.

وأضاف السيد القاضي قائلاً بأن نشاط المؤسسة في مجال استثماراتها المباشرة في دول المجلس سواء في الدخول بمشاريع جديدة أو التخارج من بعض الاستثمارات القائمة، هو نشاط مستمر حيث شهد عام 2017 الدخول في استثمارات مختلفة سواء في القطاعات اللوجيستية، والصحية، والتعليمية بإجمالي بلغ 179 مليون دولار أمريكي.

من جهة اخرى أوضح السيد إبراهيم علي القاضي بأن المؤسسة قد قامت خلال عام 2017 بالاستعانة بأحد مكاتب التقييم العالمية وذلك للقيام بإجراء تقييم شامل مستقل لمحفظة الاستثمارات المباشرة المملوكة للمؤسسة والبالغة 2 مليار دولار أمريكي تقريباً، وهي خطوة تقوم بها المؤسسة لأول مرة منذ تأسيسها، وذلك بغرض التأكد والتحقق من مدى عدالة وسلامة التقييم، حيث أتت نتائج التقييم بمجملها ايجابية ولتؤكد على صحة نهج الإدارة الذي اتبعته في عملية بناء المخصصات.

هذا وتجدر الاشارة بأن المؤسسة قد قامت في نوفمبر الماضي بسداد كامل قيمة السندات التي استحقت عليها والبالغ قيمتها 500 مليون دولار أمريكي في مواعيدها، لتنخفض بذلك نسبة القروض لحقوق المساهمين لتصبح 52% في نهاية عام 2017 وهي الخطوة التي تأتي ترجمة لتوجه استراتيجية المؤسسة نحو تقليص الالتزامات المالية عليها.

Gulf Investment Corporation (GIC) reports net profit of USD 121 million for 2017

Gulf Investment Corporation (GIC) announced its results for the financial year ending 31 December 2017. Operating profits, before provisions, reported USD 181 million, while the net provisions of USD 60 million were provided for the decline in the fair value of investments in the Global Markets and the Principal Investments portfolios. As a result, the Corporation recorded a net profit of USD 121 million. The announcement follows the approval of corporation’s financial statements by the ordinary general assembly, which was held on 9th April 2018 at the GIC’s headquarters in the State of Kuwait.

Following the announcement of the 2017 financial results, the Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Ibrahim Ali AlQadhi commented that the strong performance of GIC during the year, amid challenging circumstances in the region, is a great success that reflects the outcome of the cooperation between the Board and the Executive Management. Moreover, GIC maintained its strong ratings during the year at A2 by Moody’s and A- by Fitch with a stable outlook, a step that reflects the confidence of these agencies in the robustness of the business model followed by the corporation, as well as its sufficient liquidity levels and its remarkable performance.

Mr. AlQadhi added that principle investments activity across the GCC, whether by entering into new projects or exiting others, is an ongoing process. During 2017, GIC invested in various logistics, health and education sectors with a total value of USD 179 million.

Meanwhile, Mr. AlQadhi stated that during the year, and in order to assess and verify the fairness and integrity of the current valuation, GIC has hired an international valuation firm to conduct a comprehensive and an independent valuation of the Corporation’s direct investment portfolio which has a total value of approximately USD 2 billion. The results of the valuation were positive in general and emphasize the soundness of the management approach in building up provisions.

In November, GIC has paid the full amount of its USD 500 million bonds in a timely manner, which has contributed to lowering the debt-to-equity ratio to 52% by the end of 2017, a move that reflects Corporation’s strategy of reducing its financial liabilities.